Super Solid Circle-to-Square Granny

Standard

image

I have been looking! And I could NOT find a truly solid granny square. They all had holes. Some in the middle. Some in the corners. Some all over!

And I am making a sweet baby blanket (with a jungle theme– so exciting!) I want a nice, soft, no-holes blanket to cover little baby fingers and toes and on which to sew my appliques.

So I wrote my own.

Super-Solid Granny Circle-to-Square
Hook sz 5mm, worsted weight yarn

Circle:
Rnd 1:Ch 3, dc 11 on chain furthest from hook. Join. 12 dc
Pull starting string tight to close center.
Rnd 2:Ch 3, dc in same stitch. Two dc in each stitch around. Join. Finish off. 24 dc
Join next color with slip stitch in any stitch.
Rnd 3:Ch 3, dc in same stitch. One dc in next stitch. Two in next. Repeat around. Join. Finish off. 36 dc
Join next color with slip stitch in any stitch.

Square:
Rnd 4: Ch 2. Hdc in next 3 stitches. *Dc in next. 2 dc in next. (Dc, trp, dc) in next stitch– this is your corner. 2dc in next. Dc in next. 4 hdc in next 4 st. Repeat from * around. Join. Finish off.
Join next color in any stitch except corner stitches.
Rnd 5: Ch 3. Dc across to corner (the corner is the dc, trp, dc from rnd 4). In top of corner dc– dc twice. In top of trp– dc, trp, dc. In top of dc– dc twice. Dc across in each stitch to next corner.

Increase to desired size, repeating Rnd 5.

image

Happy hooking!

15 thoughts on “Super Solid Circle-to-Square Granny

  1. Thanks so much for creating this block. I’ve always looked for a true solid granny square and never found one. You did an awesome job. I’ll be trying your pattern soon. Way-to-go! 🙂

      • I think you did quite a good job on this pattern. I like the way you started the circle in round one. I’ve never seen or done it that way before. Very clever.

        I enjoyed making this pattern. It’s quite lovely and I’m pleased to finally have a solid granny square pattern.
        Thanks so very much for sharing the pattern. 🙂

        I had a hard time getting round 4 to work out. I didn’t have enough stitches in round 3 to accommodate the pattern and make the four corners. It’s possible it was just me not reading the pattern right. It took awhile, but I worked out a bit of a different formula and was able to get round 4 to turn out right.

        Here’s my formula for round 3:
        Rnd 3: Ch 3, dc in same stitch. 2 dc in next 2 stitches. *1 dc in next stitch. 2 dc in next 3 stitches. Repeat around* ending with 2 dc in last stitch. Join. Finish off. 44 stitches
        Join next color with slip stitch in any stitch.

        (I’m going to try to post a photo of my square. If it doesn’t show up in my comment, I’ll post it on my blog to show you.)
        🙂

      • Oh, glad it worked, but I’m sorry for your trouble…I think the square part of my pattern needs some improvement! The corner in rnd four should only take up three stitches, but it could definitely be written more clearly.
        I prefer charts, so much easier to see which stitch goes where, but I fon’t have a computer program for that, yet. 🙂

      • I’m so embarrassed. I re-read it and I read it wrong. You’re right, and you wrote it right. lol I’m sorry. I’m going to go and change my post and add an apology in it.
        It’s a great pattern. I’m sorry about my mix up.

  2. I just saw E.C.’s post about this pattern and just wanted to come by and say thanks so much for sharing this! I’ve never seen a granny pattern that is this solid before, even the “solid” patterns tend to have gaps. That isn’t bad of course, all granny squares are kind of awesome in my opinion – but sometimes you just want something really, truly solid. This is perfect! ❤

  3. Clike this but round five is hard to understand is your pattern corrected now as noticed someone commented one of the rows were wrong love this

    • Hi Pat, yes, round four was edited once already but I see several places the pattern could be written more clearly! I am working on sample for a photo tutorial now and hope to have the rewritten pattern up on the blog by next week. I have learned a lot in a year! Happy hooking 🙂

  4. Hi please could ya let me know for round 5 for the corners do you put 2dc or 4dc in corner love this but part I don’t understand thanks its just the way its written just need to know if its 2dcor4dc in corners for round 5

  5. Sure! The corner is made up of a dc, trp, dc in round 4. So for round 5 you make 2 dc in the first corner dc, then a dc, trp, dc all in the corner trp from round 4, then 2 dc in the next dc, for a total of 6 dc and 1 trp in the three corner stitches. Hope that helps!

Leave a comment