That Hat

Standard

T’was the village festival this weekend!

It amuses me that every village has one. Our longing for notoriety has no limit, o hubris.

We enjoyed our miserly treats, having only pennies to spare. One child bought a trinket, another played the arcade alley, winning this:

The wayfare of crafts and wares had one lone crafter, her knitting and afghans displayed for all to see. I admired her work, as did my companions, when suddenly child three exclaimed, “That hat! Oh, I love it, can you make me one?”

And you, dear reader, can already guess my answer. 🙂

But, of course.

It was the work of a few hours, and very pleasant work, to freehand a lacy green cap with button. Simple, with a v stitch and just enough yarn!

I have made enough hats to manage without a pattern, now. My rule of thumb is about five rounds of increase, if working a double-crochet stitch height, then stop the increase and crochet the same number of stitches around for another five or so rounds. Single crochet about three rounds for a band, to finish.

She wanted a beanie, so I made it a bit longer.

I would have done more, but that was all I had for yarn!

She then kindly aceeded to my request for a model. In fact, she did the following photo shoot entirely in her closet. 😀

My talented girl. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

