Pretty Pretty Baby Cardi

Standard

Hello and happy weekend!

I hadn’t a minute to spare for weeks. Then, after careful list-making, diligent stick-to-it-ive-ness and just plain hard work, I finished the rest of my must-do’s in time for a few blissful hours of crochet.

Such a sweet reward for my efforts.

I had left off working on a baby cardigan when I crocheted last. Round yoke, pretty lacy look, free pattern here: http://www.justcrochet.com/pretty-coat-usa.html

I had my usual issues with the pattern, yarn weight (called for sport/dk and I prefer worsted) and tension (goodness, must my stitches be twice as large as the average every time?) 🙂 Fiber art problems…

My first attempts at the collar turned out lovely, but huge, and stiff. Time for a larger hook to keep the yarn soft! And pattern alterations to reduce the size…

image

image

Adding a little pink as I arrived at the shell skirt portion of the cardi.

image

Lovely, but entirely unsuitable.

image

My second attempt, using just 30 stitches to start, and increasing every stitch — it curled so much it looked like a flower! 😀 Definitely too many stitches in that second row!

image

My third attempt looked promising.

image

But a little too wing-ed. I pulled out the last two rows and recalculated my sleeve  divisions. So excited I mastered that formula! Divide by six then add two for the back…I’ll have to explain that better in a future blog. 🙂

image

Such a pretty shell and v-stitch pattern from http://www.justcrochet.com/pretty-coat-usa.html

I will be using it again! It would make a pretty matching hat, too.

image

This yarn is delicious! Lion Brand Ice Cream in cookies and cream. ❤

image

The self-striping color work came out nicely for the skirt, but gave me a time when it came to the sleeves! I ended up cutting after a few rows, switching back and forth between sleeves until they came out even.

Success! A pretty little flower for a pop of color and I have the perfect sweet baby gift.

image

The larger hook size kept the yarn snuggly soft: 5mm was the magic size for me.

image

So pretty and sweet. Now to play with my starting chain length and make one in
a larger size. This one is about 0-3 months.

Happy hooking!

Leave a Reply

