Making Pretty Ponchos

Standard

Hello my friends and welcome back! I was sick last weekend and completely missed blogging.
Glad to say I am back to feeling like myself again and will be back to crocheting, well, as soon as I put together my annual income and expense sheets for taxes. Not my favorite thing, but not too bad, either, with the help of my lovely computer program that sorts it all out for me. I got a good start on it today already!

I’m happy to show you my latest little project, a darling poncho for a darling little girl, requested by her mother. Ponchos are relatively simple to make, and so cute, as well as quite the fashion now.

It makes me smile as they were all the rage when I was a little child too. I must be getting old if they are back! 🙂

I knew once I calculated the starting chain and increase, the rest would be smooth sailing. I wanted a hdc pattern, not granny stripe, but I love her patterns, so went right to http://www.lemondedesucrette.com/2010/10/13/about-ponchos-and-pattern-d/ to get started.

image

I also knew I wanted to avoid tension issues that can occur with using a starting chain, so I reacquainted myself with the foundation half double crochet to begin.

http://www.mooglyblog.com/foundation-half-double-crochet/

I crocheted 72, then joined with a slip stitch, CH 2 and onto round 2.
I marked the halfway point around, to make my increase there and at the join.

image

I wanted a bit of texture, so alternated front post half double crochet (fphdc) with regular hdc for a round, then fphdc with bphdc for the next. Makes it a bit chunky; I like it!

Next, into the color changes: I’m imitating a picture– yes, reverse-engineering again– can’t help myself, there are so many cute things to make.

image

Again, I wanted something a bit chunky looking, so started some granny striping, skipping the stitches, then making three in one.

image

So pretty. A note about granny striping in the round: do be sure to turn your work! My corners began to show signs of the dreaded granny twist…

image

Nothing too serious, as I have nearly completed the rows for this little one. If it was going to be larger, we would be having issues, for sure!

image

Working away, loving the colors.

image

Nearly there, almost time for the dreaded fringe! And then an adventure in pom poms for the tie…

So exciting. 🙂

And I am off.  Back to the grind for me. Happy hooking!

One thought on “Making Pretty Ponchos

Leave a Reply

