Circling Lovelies

Standard

Hello and happy weekend.

The weather has turned colder after an unseasonable warm spell that made the start of school a bit more cruel than usual.

Nothing like baking in the classroom, thinking of the beach!

The children suffered more than I did, as I was so excited about the start of the new year with my new job…and my classrooms have air conditioning. 🙂

Today’s pattern is one of my favorites. Tried and true. Simple, well-written, and deceptively intricate. When it looks difficult, but is surprisingly easy to make…

IMG_5234

Priscilla Hewitt is a master designer, in my humble opinion.

I love her Matelasse. All of them. ❤

This one is sweetly named: Circle of Friends. Find it here:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/circle-of-friends-square

IMG_5233

Rounds of sc or dc, then a fun trp-sc to make the fabulous textures!

IMG_5226

I used Caron Simply Soft and my F (3.5mm) hook.

IMG_5224

Started in a fit of need for bursts of random color, and whipped up over the course of a few days, as the pattern is really quite simple.

IMG_5223

I’m so glad I did, for now I have news of babies on the way and will finish this blanket in plenty of time to gift it.

IMG_5231

I changed colors each round, choosing the most contrast I could find…and trying not to duplicate any.

IMG_5220

I love my spring brights. Good old V-Stitch in the background makes me smile, as it is still waiting for me to sew in those ends…and back with flannel. 😀

IMG_5222

I plan to join my squares with a beautiful silver gray in a boring double crochet band…anything with braid, lattice or texture would be too much, and fail to highlight the gorgeous bumpiness of this pattern!

IMG_5230

See the circles turn into squares next time!

IMG_5217

Until then…

May you have a lovely week. ❤

2 thoughts on “Circling Lovelies

Leave a Reply

