The Lovely African Flower Afghan, part II

Standard

 

Hello and happy weekend to you!

Week two of my fabulous new job complete and I am ready for some crochet time! ❤

I showed you the start of my pretty flower blanket last time (if you missed it, see here: https://thesparklytoad.wordpress.com/2015/09/07/protea-or-osteospermum-the-lovey-african-flower/ )

Piles of lovely flowers:

IMG_5121

Adding the contrasting edge…and the beginnings of a layout design…

IMG_5142

I mulled over the possible hexagon pattern design for several weeks before choosing a simple granny hexie. Transitioning from the African flower motif to a circle, square or hexie for joining is NOT easy and I have been foiled before. Often, pattern options look nice on paper but do not lie flat or come out evenly.

IMG_5136

I must have a join-as-you-go motif, too, as my patience is severely limited in the sewing department.

IMG_5140

I am quite pleased with the result, a modified hexie granny of my own design, easy-to-count stitches and easy joining.

IMG_5138

My family appreciates it when I develop crochet projects that do not make me crabby over excessive stitch-counting or joining. 🙂

IMG_5133

All laid out on a big sheet on the floor, no two colors adjacent. Not an easy task! This part is a bit like quilting…you lay it out, then have to keep track of your pattern pieces as you join.

IMG_5126

I stacked mine in order and laid the vertical pile in a box.

Easy to know which was next! The one in front.

 

 

It was an ugly box, or I would have taken a photo. 🙂

The joining is all finished now, and I am working on the borders. More next time!

IMG_5132

 

In family news, I took my little butterfly to the park this morning for our local festival. ❤

IMG_5567

It is a gorgeous day.

IMG_5568

That, and my computer misbehaving caused a bit of a posting delay, sigh.

I shan’t complain, the dryer died this week and my husband fixed it for $4.33.

For a family of six, a working dryer is no small miracle.

So we are counting our blessings. All of them.

See you next week!

Leave a Reply

