Protea or Osteospermum? The Lovey African Flower

Standard

Hello and happy holiday weekend!

I am rested up form my first exciting week of my new adventure and ready to post! See more about that here:

https://thesparklytoad.wordpress.com/2015/08/11/toad-ally-awesome/

And, well, you probably know I love flowers…the colors, that shapes, the incredible beauty and detail…

The crochet African flower is one of my favorite patterns. So may options! Moogly has a dozen fun patterns collected here:

http://www.mooglyblog.com/free-african-flower-patterns/

And if you haven’t seen Heidi Bears ADORABLE amigurumi designs…check those out on ravelry here:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lollo-the-african-flower-bear

Plotting my blog, I was curious. Is the design based on a REAL African flower? The answer seems to be no, but I enjoyed the search! Here is a lovely osteospermum:

And then the African national flower protea, also called sugar-bush:

So pretty! But not much like the crochet pattern.

The African flower pattern lends itself very well to scrap-ghans, using leftover bits to make dozens of flowers. Here’s my first gathering of Caron Simply Soft extras out of my bins.There is little I love more than rummaging through my piles of yarn to make new color combinations. Color makes me happy.

IMG_5092

I like charts better, so I downloaded a handful of those and chose a hexie pattern, to start. If you are in need of a written pattern, here is a good one: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/african-flower-hexagon-crochet-tutorial

IMG_5093

Such pretty little flowers, and they work up quickly.

IMG_5101

Now, how to join?

IMG_5110

Another day, another gathering of colorful half and three-quarter skeins…to make MORE!

IMG_5117

Ooo, found a bit of yellow! That will brighten things up a bit.

IMG_5118

I plan to join them with a pretty white…some sort of lacy border…and edging motif.

IMG_5123

Crochet flowers make me happy.

IMG_5126

More next time! The blanket is nearly finished, but I must pace myself now that I am a working girl. 🙂

This hooker will settle in with her stash and crochet a quiet holiday afternoon away…after I finish my lessons…I hope!

May you have a lovely Monday. ❤

3 thoughts on “Protea or Osteospermum? The Lovey African Flower

Leave a Reply

