Baby Victorian Dreams

Standard

Hello and happy Tuesday!

Something pretty and sweet, this sultry summer July day…

The kidlets are in the pool, splashing and shrieking up a storm.

There is a lovely breeze.

Today’s pretty is a soft, colorful baby blanket for a special someone!

IMG_5076

I have been longing to try this pattern:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/victorian-lattice-square

IMG_5075

I’m using Caron Simply Soft in Blue Mint, Strawberry and Lime with a 3.5mm hook.

IMG_5074

The edging is my own design and NOT quite finished yet. πŸ™‚ I am a bit obsessed with pineapple patterns these days, and based it on that. I have been downloading quite a few doily charts!

IMG_5073

The free pattern for the square includes both the written pattern and a chart (Oh, I love using charts, they are much faster for me).

IMG_5062

Such vibrant colors, and the feel is out-of-this-world soft.

IMG_5068

I may have to make this one again. I love the look of the square.

IMG_5067

For joining, I used the braided join technique– or at least my own twisted version of it! πŸ˜€

IMG_5061

I learned this join while participating in The Crochet Crowd’s Crochet-Along earlier this year:

http://thecrochetcrowd.com/2015-knit-crochet-along-mystery-afghan/

IMG_5060

I see that Moogly has also featured this square recently, on Hookin’ on Hump Day, and another nifty way to join these pretty squares…you can check that out here:

http://www.mooglyblog.com/hohd-98/#more-16604

http://aureliaslittleroom.com/tutorial-simple-joining-square-technique/

Well, it is time for snack, here at home. They are happy to play nicely as long as I feed them. πŸ™‚

May many happy hours of crochet be in your future. ❀

IMG_5063

3 thoughts on “Baby Victorian Dreams

Leave a Reply

