Dainty Doily Delight

Standard

Hello, Hello and Happy Tuesday!

May I welcome myself back from a lovely vacation? 😉

It was a much-needed time; so completely detached from my usual tasks that I felt quite a different person, and was entirely refreshed.

Just before we left, I pulled several faded, mimeographed charts from my pile of patterns and worked up a bit of pretty cotton-acrylic blend.

IMG_4939

I wish I had a tub full of the stuff..that’s what it would take to make anything of substantial size!

Here’s the label:

IMG_4946

How anyone manages to buy enough fine yarn to make a sweater or camisole is beyond me; the cost is quite prohibitive.

IMG_4941

I contented myself with doing the first few rounds of this old chart. The fiber blend slipped so neatly between my fingers, and I love the stitch definition that comes from working with cotton.

IMG_4943

I really must pull out some of my finer thread and make another go at something long and lacy.

***

Would you like to make one yourself? Here are a few patterns to choose from:

http://allcrafts.net/crochet/crochetdoilies.htm

Need something easy for a beginner? Maybe here:

http://www.favecrafts.com/Crochet/Free-Crochet-Doily-Patterns-for-Beginners

I could get lost on the internet, browsing patterns. Here are two more of my favorite search spots. Perhaps you need a new project!

http://www.garnstudio.com/

http://www.yarnspirations.com/

IMG_4935

Our vacation was such a lovely time away. I shall bundle it up into my happiest memories and keep it there, pulling it out to reminisce, as needed, during the long winters.

IMG_4944

May your summer be full of lovely tender moments and fair-weather fun!

Until we crochet again… ❤

Leave a Reply

