Giant Granny Goodness

Standard

I saw something not too long ago that I simply had to try.

Large granny squares– sewn into an afghan.

It was made by a talented designer, with fancy yarn, in marvelous earth tones, but the basic concept delighted me- giant grannies!

Compared to a typical 4-5 round granny afghan, there will be less joining– I will make nine squares– although the ends sewn will still  be numerous, as of course I must change color every round.

I love color!

IMG_4881

And as I must also put a twist on everything I make, I started with circles. 🙂

 

 

IMG_4874

 

IMG_4870

This is a scrap-ghan…which means I am using all kinds of bits and pieces from my current yarn stash, not purchasing new, although as my rounds get larger I require more and more of a skein to complete them. Eventually I will be forced to pick up a few final colors to complete it. Yarn shopping(!), oh, how sad… 😉

IMG_4869

I see that I forgot the cardinal rule of granny squares (I was making these rather late at night last week and was distracted for various reasons), which is to TURN your work after each round or your granny square will begin to show the dreaded, “granny twist.”

It isn’t too late. I shall start flipping them over and work alternating sides for the rest of the rounds. I believe I am on number nine? Going for twenty, unless they start to get too big.

IMG_4868

I’ve gathered several of my random unassigned skeins of yarn into a tote for easy pickings. Makes for easier clean up, too, when the little ones are coming by.

IMG_4867

 

If you prefer a more uniform theme or specific color design, I recommend a marvelous free web tool– the granny square pattern generator:

http://granny-square-colors.com/

I have had far too much fun with it– on more than one occasion 😀 …so many options! You can choose dimensions (by number of squares), number of colors, infinite color shadings…the possibilities are endless. I especially liked using it to vary the light and dark tones to see how that changed the overall look. I would think it would be very helpful for quilters that way, too.

***

And, just for fun, as I missed you last week (all of my cameras were dead or AWOL and what is a crochet blog without pictures?), a sneak peek at my cutest little 4th of July project– the popover smock, done Star-Spangled Banner style!

 

IMG_4879

For the dress pattern, see here:

https://thesparklytoad.wordpress.com/2015/05/27/mais-oui/

Such a lovely, lovely day. The children have been to the park and are now in the pool…I shall grab myself a bit of yarn and hook it ’til dinnertime.

IMG_4877

Happy Tuesday!

3 thoughts on “Giant Granny Goodness

Leave a Reply

