Baby Boy Brilliance

Standard

Hello, Hello and Happy Tuesday!

Barring the holidays, for us this is the busiest week of the year. Local colleges finish up (making all my student and teacher friends a bit crazy), we have our dance recitals, final church and music programs for the school year…and this year a class trip to the ZOO with grandma, grandpa AND daddy, oh, joy!

image

It feels a bit luxurious to have delegated most of it. πŸ˜‰

The eldest can drive herself to rehearsals. The middles can walk to their concert, and choose their own theme outfits, with minimal assistance– it’s a 70’s tribute, I understand.

I just need to make the meals and keep the littles out of trouble. So far, so good.

I am busy on a new project this week– has there been a week yet that I am not!?!Β  πŸ˜‰ My sweet neighbor is having her second baby boy.

I made these hats (and an afghan) for the first one:

20130918_103118

Now a new baby is coming to the same nursery, and big brother has been moved out to his own room…so the same colors, and theme, but certainly we couldn’t do the same blanket!

It’s been a bit since I did a corner-to-corner, and I have seen some LOVELY striping patterns lately. I like the random, varying-width look, but am a bit short on time for dreaming and designing, so stuck with something a little more predictable.

Here is the basic pattern and a video tutorial:

http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/crochet-corner-corner-throw

image

Lovely limey green, navy and white. It’s a bit nautical, and very BOY.

image

Caron Simply Soft and my favorite 5mm H hook give it a nice soft feel.

Row counts are 5 rows of navy, then 4-2-4 of green/white/green or white/green/white, alternating. Marvelous effect!

image

I love the simplicity of working diagonally, although it does make me a bit dizzy at times. πŸ™‚ I have to be careful not to lose my place when turning…

image

Such pretty striping. And it worked up rather quickly.

image

Just a couple hours to go. I’m thinking of edging in a few rows of single crochet stripes. Or perhaps no border at all. C2C is one of the few afghans that can look better without a border.

image

Enjoy your week! Mine will rather fly. Happy hooking. ❀

3 thoughts on “Baby Boy Brilliance

  1. Wow! It’s beautiful! What’s what stitch called?
    I recently started a blanket, it’s a simple row by row in navy, baby blue and white, i haven’t made a blanket for so long, it’s been hard getting back into the swing of going straight instead of circles lol

  2. Carol D

    This is really, really nice! I was not considering making another blanket right now, since I’ve spent so much time on Sophie’s Universe. But I LOVE your colors on this. Had I seen it in the original colors (on Red Heart), I probably would not even look twice….but your rendition has me “hooked”!
    Thank you for the inspiration! Yours in beautiful!

Leave a Reply

