Stunning Sophie, Part II

Standard

It’s looking good!

The weekend was a bit full– more than I like– but it was well worth the time.

My lovely 13-year-old performed a solo and duet in a district school competition and we spent the day together, along with my sweet mother. I so enjoyed hearing the promising student vocalists and musicians! Our school was well-represented and I am grateful for such a quality music program in our quite-rural area.

A smile, despite the nerves, just before singing:
image

After a day away, the youngest was wishing for some mama time. As much as I longed to pick up my hook, an eye to the clock said bedtime (and quiet crochet solitude bliss for this mama) was a scant hour away. So I acquiesced her childish request and here we are, “playing clowns ” with Sophie.

image

She did a fair job with the make-up! No complaints from me. 🙂
And sure enough, I got my time soon after.

As others have said, it doesn’t do to work on Sophie when you are tired. Too many crucial stitch counts! So I did a bit, and then went to bed early…three days in a row!

She is growing so prettily.

Here we have the sought after Blue Hawaii to finish part 4:
image

And then my favorite round to date, the TULIPS:
image

image

image

Oh, it makes my heart hurt to look at her! That queer ache of pain when something is just a bit too lovely…

At this point the colorway decisions became a challenge again. Where to go next with the pallette?

Time for the blues and greens, but first, white petals for contrast.
image

image

And just for fun, the back…messy ends everywhere! I am really very naughty not to weave them in at intervals. 🙂 The directions even include suggested weaving points!
image

Now another row of tulips, and a little yellow sunshine to set them off:
image

And decision-time! I need to plan the color scheme for the next few rows.
The pattern has been released through part 9 and I am just finishing up part 6, but no worries, I will get there!

Here is the link if you would like it. The color combinations of the myriads of folks creating a Sophie of their own are beyond stunning. Check out the ravelry and facebook links to see them all.

http://www.lookatwhatimade.net/crafts/yarn/crochet/sophies-universe-cal-2015/

Just finished those pink tulips moments ago!
image

A few pending projects– a squirrel hat, dinosaur softie, pink flower baby sandals and two toddler cardigans, among other things!

Life is never dull.

Sophie’s Universe is such a lovely pattern…looking forward to an evening of crochet!

And a quiet upcoming weekend for the first time in ages…contended sigh.
Happy hooking!

Leave a Reply

