Unveiling the Universe

Standard

I have lost it…can’t find it anywhere. 😦

Have you seen my crochet time?

It is my own fault, I know…I said yes to far too many things…or perhaps it is all these children everywhere, or the school schedule, or just a seasonal quirk of the relentless calendar…
I just can’t find my free time!

I know– I shall blame the weather. The past several years we had SNOW DAYS! This year it is our friends out east that are snowbound, and we have had nary an inch at a time. It has been nice for travel, but oh, I would like to curl up for the evening and get hooking.

In typical ‘Toad fashion, the precious little time I HAVE had since we met last week went to an entirely new project. In case you haven’t heard…a little design called Sophie’s Universe has many of us in crochet world a bit excited.

She started out as a garden on ravelry.
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sophies-garden

But now she is a crochet-along and the results are stunning!
http://www.lookatwhatimade.net/crafts/yarn/crochet/sophies-universe-cal-2015/sophies-universe-part-1-cal-2015/

So here is my Sophie, or at least the beginnings of her. My color scheme is muted rainbow, with some white for contrast and/or emphasis:

In the beginning:
image

Choosing, adding and designing…
image

Picking the next grouping:
image

Greens and blues…
image

And a few more rows:
image

Gorgeous corner flowers…
image

At this point I was forced to a halt. Horror of horrors, I COULD NOT FIND any more of a blue I used in the center flower! I cannot tell you how serious this is…it would mean starting over, as there would be no other way to tie the color scheme together with that one odd blue RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE…I had just a bit left, but each round requires more yarn to complete and I had only a tiny ball…

After rummaging (messily, of course, now I have more to clean up= less crochet time) through my stash several times, I gathered the four colors I  had run short of but wanted to continue using.

I found three at the first store, but…

That lovely electric blue-aqua eluded me.

Until yesterday.

Ha ha!

I have found you, my BLUE HAWAII, you are mine!

****

NOW I shall resume my Sophie. And perhaps finish a few other things as well.

I WILL discover my free time again…she tends to appear when I am not looking, with serendipitous grace.
image

I shall keep my hook at the ready.

3 thoughts on “Unveiling the Universe

  1. I hope you find your free time sooon!!!
    Also, I nominated you for a Liebster award because I love your blog and I love seeing what you post (I’m one of those blog stalkers though and go “ooooh pretty” without leaving too many comments cause usually my mind doesn’t work enough to form words into sentences beyond “PRETTY” >.> )

Leave a Reply

