The Graphghan, Part II

Standard

Hello, Monday Eve! It’s not Tuesday yet, but I have pictures at the ready, and, more importantly, I have a teensy bit of TIME…at least for a few minutes, since hubby and the smallest of the small fry are cooking dinner…oh, bliss.

I suppose it is too much to hope that I would get my taxes done tonight, too…but maybe I could get them STARTED…? That would be nice. ๐Ÿ˜›

I have been making progress! And learning a plethera of tidbits in the process. If you’d like to start at the beginning (and read things in order, hmmm), go here first.

Fun facts about the graphghan so far:

1. I haven’t actually wound any bobbins yet, but am a third done.
2. I have never seen so many ends in my life. I thought I hated weaving ends BEFORE. Wowzers.
3. My ingenious idea for printing a chart over the graphic resulted in a pattern that can only be read by mice. Or elves.
4. I really, really hate weaving ends.
5. Miscounting stitches is very, very obvious in a graphghan, but not until you are 2-3 rows past the error.

There. Venting aside, I should be celebrating! I did it! So far…
The rows of lettering have been quite successful and, well…yay!

image

The emblem, unfortunately, has been a trick…the chart was simply too small, and parts of it much too dark to count the squares on the graph…this is all due, of course, to my frugality and inexperience, as there are lovely programs and designers out there that will happily make beautiful, readable charts and patterns…for a fee.

But no, I will persevere with what I have! I cropped, enlarged and reprinted the emblem portion of my design, which has helped.
image

I will be redoing the entire section, as my star is currently rather uneven and wobbly.

I learned from the facebook group Teach Me Graphghan that you can count stitches and write them out, rather like a code– or even have the computer do it for you, in Excel– so, being my stubborn self, and given that my image is a mirror image, so that I want it the same on both sides…

I wrote out the stitch counts for HALF the image, and will crochet it that way, first following my counts, then crocheting the same number (and color) of stitches in reverse order in each row, so that it is even. Because at the moment? It is not…hence the redo.

image

We shall see!
I have decided making graphghans is not much like crochet…it’s a bit more like weaving and MATH! My sincere apologies to those of you who enjoy calculations…I consider them one of life’s particular torments…

I haven’t given up, never fear! Despite my learning curve, I WILL be trying my hand at even another graphghan, sometime.

I downloaded the cutest little pattern from the facebook group– someone designed a darling baby dragon with hearts and posted it as a free giveway. Just to give you an idea, it is a quarter of the size of my design and has TWELVE PAGES of graph, as opposed to my one. No wonder I am having trouble reading mine. ๐Ÿ™‚

And on the bright side, I am making one of my signature giraffes to coordinate with this very special blanket. So far, he is adorable! Sneak peek here:
image

And here:
image

Ah, patience is a virtue. I might just get in a few hours tonight. Bliss.
image

See my little helper here? It’s no wonder my crochet hours are few, these days!
image

Happy hooking!

3 thoughts on “The Graphghan, Part II

Leave a Reply

