Shoulder Snugglers

Standard

Well, my technology conundrum is about the same, with the exception of a new tablet charging cable, winging its way to me from Amazon by the end of this week…I do hope it will cure my sickly device.

On the plus side, today I unexpectedly have a 35% charge, after sitting at about 5% most of the last week, so blog I shall!

Today is all about cardigans. And a shrug.

Pictures of pretty sweaters is actually what motivated me to ramp up my skill a good two years ago. I could read the pattern, and mostly follow the sewing and assembly instructions, but mine sure didn’t look like the picture!

image

(Yarnspirations.com has such pretty free patterns…here are a few of my favorites…

http://www.yarnspirations.com/patterns/crochet-cardigan.html
http://www.yarnspirations.com/patterns/on-the-lace-cardgian.html
http://www.yarnspirations.com/patterns/pretty-v-neck.html )

My problem?
Mostly it was my gauge. A 3 month sized baby sweater came out 2T.  Then there was that tiny little detail of sport weight (or dk) vs. worsted weight yarn.  Who knew? 🙂 My odds and ends collection so rarely has two matching skeins of yarn in it…I would try to combine them, but using different weights and/or brands together was a level of skill I did not yet have and I don’t recommend it, unless you have more patience than me!

Once, I tried to make this stunning (and simple) Doris Chan pullover but didn’t make it past the first row of motifs because my gauge was so off it wasn’t even close to my size…

But guess what?!? This time, I did it. My tension has improved significantly, I would imagine, in the past couple years, and now I have learned all sorts of lovely resourcey-type things, like crochet groups on Facebook and the “notes” section on Ravelry pattern tabs where other crafters post their tricks and tips for things.

So I made this…and it came out just like the picture, AND it fits. 🙂

image

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/chevron-lace-cardigan
I used Caron Simply Soft in pretty silver-gray and an H hook.

I also made a darling shrug out of a gorgeous skein from a dear friend at Christmastime. Have you ever googled “easy crochet shrug”? I love to look at the pictures!

image

This one looks like mine, and is a free pattern, too:
image

http://www.craftsy.com/pattern/crocheting/clothing/easy-breezy-shrug/58487

I know you would love a photo shoot of my two new sweaters. 🙂 Maybe if I can find a photographer, or…a better looking model? 😉

Or a working camera…that would help O.o

I am so happy I had enough battery to chat with you today!
Until next time…I am off to fill a few orders and perhaps type some patterns. My sketches and notes are piling up, as are your requests! ❤

2 thoughts on “Shoulder Snugglers

Leave a Reply

