Starch-ness Raving

Standard

Hello, hello…time for adventure!
We are hustling and bustling here per the season, and I have several fun things to share this week. 🙂

First off…pretty candy canes! With “victorian” in the name, of course I had to try them. They worked up quickly and easily to make darling gifts. We will finish them off with ribbon and rosettes at the top, for hanging.

image

Free pattern here:
http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/victorian-candy-cane-cover

And now to the starch-ness! This has been on my to-try list for months and months…and what better time to give it a go than Christmas…for snowflakes!

I love, love, love Lucy’s pretty pattern, and what a difference a little starch, stretch, pin and block makes. Here’s the link to make your own:
http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/crochet-snowflake.html

image

Knowing nothing about starching, I bought the blue bottle my friend Kristina recommended.
Reading the suggested dilutions, we went with 1/2 cup starch to 1 cup water.

image

I’ve no idea how it will turn out. 🙂
(Took one in negative, just for fun!)
image

Aren’t they pretty?
image

I’ve discovered I haven’t nearly enough pins…ha ha

Now to share the delight of this lovely season with you, some pretty holiday stills of my most favorite things. image

Our antique dresser (made by my husband’s great uncle)
image

A nativity for little hands
image

The stockings are hung
image

An advent nativity
image

And precious angel

image

My scripture nativity

And stashed away in a corner, my twelve-point star with nearly all the orange rounds finished…with upcoming parties and concerts it’s anyone’s guess if that will be finished anytime soon!
image

Praying you are able to enjoy this blessed season despite the busy-ness, and making lovely memories with you and yours. Until next time!

One thought on “Starch-ness Raving

Leave a Reply

