Summer’s End

Standard

We celebrated the last day of summer this past weekend. Only one thing to do: a trip to our favorite place to celebrate fall!

Here is the link: http://www.lapaceksorchard.com/

But first, a peek at my latest workings…

I was inspired the other day by a picture someone posted of a six-pointed star. Those of us who are crafty for the holidays know that the countdown for making homeade gifts has begun!

I loved the granny diamonds she used to make the star, but I refuse to sew all those pieces together! And a join-as-you-go method isn’t too tricky…so I tried a few sample stars.

Here is a five-point:
image

And here is six:
image

I had some trouble with the center on that one, but now as I look at the picture it seems all right…it is also too wide, I am going to try shorter stitches on the sides.

Here are the two lovely free patterns I found; they both have so many gorgeous color possibilities! The diamond I am working on is smaller, I like little things. 🙂

image

http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/prairie-star

image

http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/christmas-star-throw

And here are some pictures of our lovely afternoon at the orchard.

Apples!
image

Raspberries…

image

Pumpkins…
image

image

Photography fun 🙂
image

Woolie Bear caterpillars…
image

Sixty varieties of apples, pretty seasonal vignettes, free samples 🙂
image

image

image

image

And caramel apples and cider donuts, yuuuuummmm…
image

Welcome, autumn!
image

One thought on “Summer’s End

Leave a Reply

