Mighty Mitered Crochet Squares

Standard

Squares, squares, squares! I absolutely love the look of mitered squares in an afghan…I think it must be my latest obsession. I have had an idea in the back of my head for weeks, something in pretty fall tones, and beautiful ombre shading…

I looked and looked for patterns, but didn’t find anything suit exactly.

Mitered squares seem to be more predisposed to knitting…and Bernat no longer has the pattern posted for the Mitered Squares Baby Blanket. 😦

I did find a nice picture tutorial for it, here, which gives the basics of the pattern:
http://www.hookedonneedles.com/2008/07/mitered-squares-baby-blanket-crocheted.html

And from Bernat, this larger version is available:
http://www.yarnspirations.com/patterns/mitered-squares-afghan.html

And this is more like what I had in mind in the first place…
http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/crocheted-mitered-square-shawl

Perhaps I just don’t know what I want! πŸ™‚ Ha ha, do I ever?

So I have developped three of my own patterns for the mitered square, one in double-crochet worked with an increase, and two in half-double crochet worked with a decrease. Fun!

Here are my pretty fall colors:
image

This square starts with a little solid granny square and then you work two sides for the miter. Here are my baby squares all made:
image

And here is my test square, in solids and stripes:
image

I think it will be very pretty! I plan to edge and join in chocolate brown…

Now for something worked the opposite direction. Here is my modified version of the Bernat pattern, starting with only 15 stitches at the base.

image

I love the texture in the solid color!
image

It works up quickly, and there are no ends to weave as you join individual squares, but you do need to finish off at the end of the row and join for the next, so the squares go the same direction. So we have ends to weave with each row.

Which led me to the question, what about working rows in alternate directions? And decreasing over two stitches instead of just one?

I tried cotton and made a little washcloth.

image

Ooo, I wonder what would happen if I started with a center square and worked outward in rounds of squares? I may have to try that.

I am on the hunt for just the right self-striping yarn to make a gorgeous fall pallette afghan of mighty mitered squares! And I am still searching for the perfect pattern…but we know how that will go. πŸ˜‰

Happy hooking!

image

6 thoughts on “Mighty Mitered Crochet Squares

  1. I love granny squares too! Would you like to participate at my initiative of making grannies to make blankets to donate? Please take a look at my granny square posts so you can see what it is all about. I’m contacting all the crochet bloggers that I know to participate. Thank you

Leave a Reply

