Goodnight, Sweet Friend

Standard

Warning! This week’s post will be sad…and hopefully sweet, as well.

I would like to dedicate it to my cyber-friend Missy, from Missy’s Crafty Mess, to whom thanks are long overdue. When I started this blog last year, I didn’t have a clue what I was doing! And she was so sweet to like several of my first posts, and make some encouraging comments. I didn’t even know you could do that, I was so new to blogging…and I look forward to it now.

When I hopped over to visit her blog, I was so touched by her courage in the face of grief. So, thanks, Missy, I appreciate your kindness and am glad your are sharing out of your loss. Who knows how many others will be helped by your example?

I needed a little of that courage last week, as we said goodbye to a little friend. I know it is such a tiny grief, especially compared to yours. But my heart broke over my children’s tears.

For several years now, we have been the owner of four birds. After a brief illness, we lost one of our parakeets last week. It was a tender goodbye.

image

I was proud of the girls as they nursed, then grieved. They wiped their tears and went back to the tasks at hand. The burial was short, and sweet. The sadness returns at odd moments: putting away the cage, finding a stray toy or forgotten medecine dropper.

I am always so thankful when the pain fades to sweet memories and gratitude for the time that was had.

May it be so in your lives as well.

2 thoughts on “Goodnight, Sweet Friend

Leave a Reply

