Sweet Little Baby Flip Flops

Standard

I have the most darling pictures for you today!

I was terribly grumpy last week when I had an entire week of vacation, and only a handful of baby shoes and a couple of pictures to show for it.

But family comes first. I knew that, I just forgot. And didn’t accomplish as much as I hoped I would, but did put the important things first. And practiced patience. Never can quite practice that enough, it seems!

And, as Dave Ramesy says, “Starting your own business is going to take twice as long and cost twice as much money as you think.”

So there you have it. I’ve spent a small fortune on yarn, but thankfully the patterns and video tutorials I have studied to hone my skill have all been free!

Crochet social media has been LIT with the following pattern, and of course I had to try. 🙂

They turned out so well I have half a dozen orders…and some darling pictures for my (someday, hopefully not-too-long-now) etsy shop.

image

So cute! And the free pattern:
http://www.whistleandivy.com/2014/06/crochet-baby-flip-flop-sandals.html

First I tried several colors:

image

My jumbled collection of Caron Simply Soft 🙂

image

Pastels

image

Fruity!

image

Carrot/Chocolate

One of the nicest things about these sweet baby shoes is that they actually stay on baby feet! The second inside strap from toe to heel is so clever. But I felt the upper strap dearly needed some glam.

Darling!

image

And then a friend asked for ladybugs. Ladybugs!?! With as much artistic freedom as I should like…well, THAT was irresistable!

I had something in mind…
image

But it wasn’t quite right…and I didn’t want to run to the shops…surely I must have something in my enormous stash of crafty things that would suit?

My Auntie Sarah’s antique wood buttons! Square ones!

image

Would they suit? I think so. The result was quite fetching, if I dare say so myself!

image

Lovely. And now I must off to stitch a few more pair and finish a tiger. Happy day!

image

P.S. I learned how to watermark! One step closer to my business goals…

4 thoughts on “Sweet Little Baby Flip Flops

Leave a Reply

