Summer Fun and Triple the Afghans

Standard

I love these days! This one has a cooking class and basketball, that one is off to camp…another has baseball and of course there is lots of time for fun in the pool when the weather is glorious, too hot for me but perfect for a pool party.

I am busy making three afghans for a friend…I have two weeks left before I see her, and REALLY hope I can finish in time. I kept the designs simple in hopes of completing all three during this busy season!

Afghan #1:

C2C (Corner-to-corner)

http://www.redheart.com/free-patterns/crochet-corner-corner-throw

This is a fun, easy stitch worked diagonally. Since it is for a little girl, I am planning a lacey border.

If written patterns aren’t your cup of tea, there are several good video tutorials out there also.

Crochet Corner To Corner Afghan Project – YouTube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNrS4s5C8vc

image

image

Afghan #2:

Just A Granny Square

This one is simply a giant granny square. I join at the end of each round, ch 3, dc 2 for the first cluster, and off I go again. I had fun choosing the colors! See the funky twist? I had no idea it would do that…I read up on it afterward and discovered the remedy is simple, just turn your work every round and crochet the opposite direction. I rather like it this way…so you can do as you prefer! This one comes with a little friend–an amigurumi tiger– if I can manage!
I’ll use my favorite Little BigFoot pattern for that:
http://www.amigurumitogo.com/2012/06/hippo.html

image

Afghan #3:

Drop In The Pond

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/drop-in-the-pond-lap-blanket

I love the look of this pattern, and couldn’t wait to try it out! I have a bit to go yet, but I’ll get there.This one will have an accompanying penguin friend, too. For that I will use a simple crochet egg pattern and add embellishments. 🙂

image

Here is a picture of a finished one by craftycreativekathy@wordpress.com:
image

Off to hook! So many fun projects, so much fun in the sun to be had!
After nine months of winter…it’s about time…
image

Pretty Japanese Irises on our family hike last week.
Have a lovely day!

6 thoughts on “Summer Fun and Triple the Afghans

Leave a Reply

