Get A Room

Standard

So today has been all about  joining, here…except for the chicken beak, but let’s talk about that another day.

Apparantly I’ve looked at too many pictures on Pinterest, because I was trying to use a join for circle grannies (like the ravelry sunburst pattern) on squares.

This is what I thought I was trying to make:
image

image

Except I wanted it more like this:
image

Weird, I know…so I made my five-round grannys  (color just in the first round, then all the rest cream), and began to join as I go. But I only did a chain 3 btw granny clusters, so it isn’t visible.
image

And then it sat in my collection of random wips, for maybe six months?

Today I pulled it out again. Thought maybe the squares should be smaller? Tried the sunburst join:
image

Still not as decorative as I’d like.

So I tried something I read a while ago– a lattice stitch where you drop the yarn off the hook and pick it up through the loop on the adjacent square.  Yes!

A gorgeous openwork join. But now I want to try it in different color edging! Wouldn’t that be pretty? A two-color twist, different on each side; I love it.
image

But alas, my free time for today is over. 😦

And to my consternation, I found this on my own Pinterest board as I was pulling up the sunburst granny! I have to laugh, as I thought I had come up with that idea myself…wonder what else is buried in my subconscious?
image

That will do for now.
Have a lovely day!
image

2 thoughts on “Get A Room

Leave a Reply

