Giving Thanks and Baby Hats

Standard

Hellooooo Monday! Always nice to get back to my routine of cleaning and cooking after a weekend busy with outings and retail. The holiday shopping is picking up, for sure! I am busy with custom orders for the holidays and loving every minute.

Today’s feature is two of my favorite designs from my Rescue Hero series: the police officer and firefighter photo props. So cute! And their recepients were delighted. While the actual patterns are not yet written up for publication, I am including several tips below that will have you whipping up your own version, in no time!

20131016_131741

 

The Little Police Officer uses a standard diaper cover pattern (basically an hourglass shape with one end wider than the other to overlap for buttoning). The donut– so much fun to make!– was a free pattern I googled…sorry, I don’t remember which blog or I would share the link! Maybe next time…there is so much cute crochet food out there, enough for an entire series, fun!

The hat. Ah, the hat. I spent several hours researching police issue shapes to determine just the look I wanted. I ended up using a pentagon top, increasing each round until reaching the diameter I wanted. I then began the sides by crocheting in back loops only, and decreasing at each corner. Once I achieved my desired height, I switched to black and did 4-5 rounds of sc. The design of the brim I borrowed from a free newsboys cap on ravelry.

The shield is just a circle crocheted in the round with a second round of well-placed triple crochets and slip stitches for shaping. A little felt for custom lettering, and there you have it!

Screenshot_2013-11-23-00-24-03 So sweet!

 I think he likes it! Now…

 

1380942327305

 

The Little Firefighter: the hat is an octogon with fpdc at the corners for ridges, increasing proportionally each round. I switched to triple crochet at the back for the elongated brim, turning for a last row or two just on the back.

I used acrylic worsted weight yarn and an H hook.

I hope this inspires you to try your own designs!

Happy Thanksgiving! I am excited to post my tabletop turkey later this week, I hope I finish in time for the holiday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

