Hodge Podge Mountain

Standard

Hello, hello, it’s Tuesday!

I have a mountain of crochet odds-n-ends piling up on my table and thought I would share some of my recent favorites. Most are a bit of an experiment, but I’ll do my best to point you in the right direction if you’d like to try something similar!

1) All About Lace
Baby dresses are pretty and fun to make. The recent weather change has me thinking of light fall cardigans, so I played with some pretty multi-colored yarn remnants and my favorite baby dress pattern
image

http://www.bevscountrycottage.com/angel-wings-pinafore.html

and altered it to include pretty lace instead of dc shells
image

My first try came out a little square, and not enough armhole room(!), but I love the lacey look.
image

2)Selfish Autumnwear
Then I thought I’d like a pretty fall shrug for myself? I hardly ever find the time! I adore the color changes in RedHeart Unforgettable and went for a simple rectangle as explained here:
https://thesparklytoad.wordpress.com/2014/08/27/her-snazzy-shrug/

I used a Czech chart for the stitch pattern, but dc, ch 1, instead of just dc for the shell (too heavy as written).
image

Here is the pretty result!
image

image

And figuring the sleeves with my trusty yarn stitch markers — I supose I could actually buy some real ones someday! 🙂

image

With three babies one and under during the schoolyear, it is uncertain when I will finish it, perhaps by next fall? 😀

And last but not least…

3) The Acorn Hat
I have this funny habit of seeing things on Pinterest and then misremembering them…
Last week I was in a bit of a rush to finish a gift for my nephew and decided he needed a warm winter hat. I had an end of superbulky brown left, but ran out before the hat was long enough! So I grabbed some homespun and tried an interlocking stitch I’ve seen around, then finished the brim with several rounds of sc. Success!

Here it is right side out…
image

And the super soft inside…
image

It is actually reversible, but I couldn’t resist a tassel…

Today in preparing to tell you about it, I googled:

interlocking crochet techniques stitches

Oh, my, if you’ve never seen it, you must take a look! There is a book of interlocking stitches available, and several designs on Ravelry, then pinterest and various projects! Gorgeous! My favorite is the antique brooch pattern.

A free zigzag potholder pattern and tutorial can be found here:
http://illhookyouup.blogspot.com/2013/08/zigzagging-hot-pad-free-crochet-pattern.html

Well, that should do for now! The remaining two projects, both vintage, shall have to wait ’til another time. The fuzzy pet cozy as well, but if you’d like a sneak peak The Sparkly Toad is on Facebook and updating daily! 🙂

Have a lovely, lovely day. ❤

2 thoughts on “Hodge Podge Mountain

  1. I love that little dress! That was a very nice modification to it. I especially love the choice in yarn!

    I also love the cardigan you’re making for yourself, too. That yarn is beautiful, those colors are one of my favorite color combinations.

    That acorn hat is just too cute!

Leave a comment